My Internship at Paramount Studios: Week Three

I learned one big thing this week. Nothing in production is set in stone. I was in production for two out of the four days.  The rest was a return to the wardrobe department. Since I’ve already been in wardrobe my first week, there wasn’t much new to learn.

Like I said before, the production office is very laid-back environment and it helps to ease my learning experience on the lot. I learned the phones and then met a new intern on the show. He was very friendly and excited to be there. I can only imagine that’s what I looked like when I first began. I also got to film another run-through of next week’s episode. I think that’s one of my favorite things that I’ve done so far on this internship. I like seeing the episode being formed and edited as it’s being rehearsed. I wonder if there is a difference in the rehearsal period when you compare a show like Nicky, Ricky, Dicky, and Dawn to a prime-time show or movie.

Tuesday and Wednesday were back in the wardrobe department. I got to travel California a bit, going from the Valley to Santa Monica and the Beverly Hills area. I think I’m slowly earning my LA driving stripes here. I ran errands for the wardrobe department, mostly doing returns and pick-ups.

Thursday was back into the production offices for me. Through another intern, I found some old Nicky, Ricky, Dicky, and Dawn scripts. While I had some down time, I would read through the old scripts and see how a real script is formed. It’s interesting to see the progression even on paper, from a first draft table read to a final shooting script. I also got to go to the mail room for the first time. Got a little lost along the way, but I got a little tour of the lot. I’ve been in one small corner of the lot for three weeks so it was nice to take the golf cart (dubbed the ‘quad cart’) and drive it through the lot. I also got to drive to Burbank to make some important deliveries. It was interesting seeing where contracts and paychecks get processed and signed. It’s not glamorous, but hey, gotta get paid sometime.

Overall, I found interesting things to see in and around the lot and Los Angeles. I’m excited to see what the future holds. I have two weeks off for hiatus, so no journal entries until then.

Thank you for reading! Please like, share, and subscribe! What should I review next? What else do you want to see on this blog? Let me know in the comments below!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. It would be interesting to see where the paychecks are processed. I’ve often wondered about that – I’m serious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The biggest surprise going to that area were the other TV projects that were processed there as well. I thought it was all done through the accounting within the company. Thank you for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

