My Internship at Paramount Studios: Week One

Hello! I’m a college student who received an amazing opportunity to intern on the Paramount Studios lot for the Nickelodeon show Nicky, Ricky, Dicky, and Dawn. It’s a multi-camera comedy about quadruplets and their wacky hijinks. I decided to journal about it week by week and put it on the blog so you can read about it. Enough preamble. Here it is. 

I report to the production office every day. The staff in the office are very mellow and nice. They are quite approachable. I got a brief tour of the studios and the studio where I will be working for the next three months. It’s the most historic studio still running today and considered a landmark in the Hollywood area. Every studio has plaques on the outside of it that say what was filmed inside. The studio for Nicky, Ricky, Dicky, and Dawn was where Citizen Kane was filmed, I believe. If those walls could talk, they would tell the most interesting stories.

After my tours around, I was assigned to work with the wardrobe department. It’s situated on the stage, right in the heart of it all. You get to walk through the sets, seeing where the family lives and the area where the sets rotate as needed. But back to the wardrobe. I used to think that costume departments that rely on clothes purchased wasn’t really that hard. But it was more intricate. There is a lot of purchases, true but the purchases must be fitted to the actor, then returned to the store. These stores have accounts with the studios.

My time with wardrobe was a lot of sorting through clothing. Making sure the sizes are right, the purchases are right and doing returns. My first day was a costume retrieval. I collected an order of T-shirts that feature the logo of the kid’s school. My second day was the simplest day. I got to sort clothes and see the clothing storage room. While it’s just a small space for clothes, there were so many different types and styles. It was so cool to look at and work in. The third day was the most complicated. It was a lot more driving around. I went to Topanga, Sherman Oaks, and to a costume store. I even had to pick up a PA who took a costumer to the hospital and take her back to the studio. An intern’s job is never done. The one thing that cracks me up is when they ask me to do something, they always ask if it’s ok. I always want to say “I have no objections. I’m an intern. I’m at your will.”

Even though it’s been my first week, I’ve learned a lot. Seeing the cameras and the lights all in position has really opened my eyes and made me appreciate all the work and effort that goes into making something for film and television. This show is very small in size and scale, but even this small scale feels big. There are a lot of moving pieces to this production. I am a little nervous because I don’t want to disrupt the machine. My boss says this takes time and people will need to get used to me and the other 3 interns. I can’t wait for that to happen.

Next week I’m working in set decoration. Let’s see how it goes!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. wi4real says:

    A career starts by learning the basics. What a fantastic place to learn with so much history. I am so proud of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teri Tarwood says:

    Touching, seeing, hearing and being involved. Lucky girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fascinating job. It’s excellent training for when you eventually become the head of a major studio.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading! This has been an interesting learning experience for both my working style and the film industry itself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

