10 Television Shows I’d Love to See… Eventually

There is so much TV out there, it’s impossible to choose what to watch. As a college student, television access is typically relegated to whatever I can find online, namely Netflix. The shows I have listed are ones that I would love to eventually watch in the distant future. Maybe they’ll come on Netflix or an easy to access place. To note, this list is in no particular order. I’ve also linked the trailers for each series if any of you are interested. Without further ado:

Honorable Mentions:

Fresh Off the Boat (ABC), American Gods (Starz), &  Adventure Time (Cartoon Network)

Here is the real list:

Brooklyn 99 (Fox):TV2Watch1.jpg

From my limited knowledge, Brooklyn 99 is about a quirky New York police department. It’s the kind of show that has flown under the radar. I’ve seen countless gifs, videos, and quotes from the show while on social media and it only makes me more curious. The cast looks to be hilarious, led by SNL alum Andy Samberg.

Trailer

TV2Watch2

Game of Thrones (HBO):

Before you begin to unload in the comments, please know I have seen SOME of Game of Thrones. I also have read the books as well. I made it to about as far as Season 4 before life took over and got me distracted. This is a great show and from what I’ve been hearing, the show is going in a promising direction. I look forward to seeing who finally takes the Iron Throne. (Fingers Crossed for House Stark or Targaryen)

Trailer  

TV2Watch3.jpgFargo (FX):

The Coen’s 1996 masterpiece Fargo is one of my favorite films of all time. And I have been learning about the Coen brothers style for school so this has piqued my interest. Also, showrunner Noah Hawley was involved on a show that recently devoured called Legion. You betcha I’m curious to see how this anthology explores the Midwest. I have never watched an anthology series before so this is also a great chance try it out.

Trailer 

TV2Watch4.jpg

Rick and Morty (Adult Swim):

This show has been recommended to me by a friend on multiple occasions. From what I can find, the show centers on a grandfather and his grandson and their hilarious misadventures in time and space. Basically an animated version of Back to the Future’s Marty McFly and Doc Brown.

Trailer

Community (NBC, 2009-2015):

TV2Watch5 Community has been on my personal list to watch for years. I have seen the occasional episode here and there, loving them all. The show follows a community college study group and their adventures and quirky friendships. They have been known for their offbeat parodies from Law and Order SVU to stop motion Rankin-Bass animation.

Trailer

TV2Watch8Orphan Black (BBC America): 

Orphan Black is another show that I have seen the pilot episode. The show centers on a rebellious young woman who finds there are multiple women in the world who look identical to her. I enjoyed the premise and was curious how it would progress. But life again shifted me away from Orphan Black and I forgot about it until I saw that the final season was airing this year.

Trailer

TV2Watch6.jpgWestworld (HBO)

Taken from Michael Crichton’s novel of the same name, Westworld was considered one of the first big hits of HBO since Game of Thrones in 2011. The reviews are mostly positive. From what I know, the show features a blend of sci-fi and Western. Hopefully this genre-hybrid is better than Cowboys vs. Aliens…

Trailer

 

Angie Tribeca (TBS)TV2Watch10.jpg

Of all the shows on this list, I believe this is the least known one. I discovered it while researching Rashida Jones after Parks and Recreation. A quick trailer watch and it takes comedy in a way almost like the parody movie Airplane! It also comes from Steve Carrell of The Office. I hope it becomes available someday.

Trailer

 

The Americans (FX)TV2Watch7.jpg

FX has some really good shows on there, winning lots of prestige in the awards circuit. The Americans fits under that category and features a couple in Cold War America who are KGB agents trying to get American secrets. While it may not be historically accurate, I’m interested in this period of history and the tensions between the U.S. and the Soviet Union.

Trailer

TV2Watch9.jpgSteven Universe (Cartoon Network)

Children’s animation has been getting way more dramatic of recent years. Take the show Gravity Falls. It was incredibly silly looking and grew to be an intense show about family. From what I can gather, Steven Universe is the same. And it’s created by a woman, which is encouraging in the animation industry.

Trailer

 

Thank you for reading! Please like, share, subscribe! What do you think of this list? Have you seen any of them? If so, what do you think? What else should I watch? Let me know in the comments below!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Teri Tarwood says:

    I am an avid watcher of Fargo. Each season is its own story. Kinda like American Horror Story. I watch Once Upon A Time but with most of the cast leaving I am not sure what the next season will bring. Handmaids is from a book and is interesting to see what comes next. Next I suggest House of Cards. It has been on for 5 seasons and each season picks up where the other left off. Somehow this season filmed before Trump took office is very similar to the actual presidency occurring now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll have to watch that next after Orphan Black and Pushing Daisies

      Like

    2. I love Legion, written but the same guy who wrote Fargo. It’s this cool superhero story. I plan to rewatch Once Upon a Time and review it sometime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

